Mammals Taxonomic List

Mammals are part of the Animal Kingdom and are defined as vertebrates, meaning they have a skull and a backbone, the same as amphibians, fish, reptiles and birds.  However birds and mammals are warm blooded separating them from cold blooded vertebrates.  In addition to being warm blooded, the other differences that are unique to mammals placing them into their own Class are that mammals have hair and produce milk to nourish their young.

Mammals are further divided into 3 major groups.

>The first is called Monotremes, mammals that lay eggs like the platypus of Australia.     >The second group is the Marsupials, mammals that raise their young in pouches.  Maine has one species of marsupial, the Virginia Opossum.                                                              >Most mammals fall into the Group called Eutherians or Placentals.  These are mammals that carry their unborn offspring inside their bodies much longer than the other groups and the young are nourished by the placenta during this time.  Homo sapiens or humans, of course fall into this last group and belong to the Family of Primates of which there are no wild animals in this group found in Maine.

Taxonomic breakdown of mammals found in Maine.

Doman: Eukarya

Kingdom: Animalia


Subphylum: Vertebrates


Individual Species are further categorized under Orders & Families

Order: Insectovores:      Family of Moles & Shrews

Order: Chiroptera:           Family of Bats

Order: Lagamorpha:       Family of Rabbits & Hares

Order: Rodentia:              Families of Squirrel, Woodchuck, Chipmunk, Beaver, Mice, Rats, Voles, Lemmings, Jumping Mice, Porcupine & Muskrat

Order: Cetacia:                  Family of Whales & Dolphins

Order: Carnivores:           Families of Dogs, Bears, Weasels, Cats & Raccoons

Order: Pinnipedia:           Family of Seals

Order:  Artiodactyla        Family of even-toed ungulates – Deer & Moose